Polyphobia…?

6No matter where you go or what you do in life, there will always be someone who will be offended or disgusted. Polyamory is no exception. I’ve come across a few ‘polyphobes’ in my time, and most of the time it doesn’t even bother me. In fact, closed-mindedness and unfounded anger tends to make me laugh.

But there’s one thing I just don’t get, and that’s how someone could be pro-gay and anti-poly.

JUST HOW. THE HYPOCRISY BLOWS MY MIND.

This isn’t just me venting about one dumb argument I had with someone, by the way. Out of all the polyphobes I’ve met, MOST of them were also pro-gay. It’s made me realise that when people say they are pro-equality, many actually just mean they are pro-whateveriscooltosupportatthemoment. It saddens me to think that ‘gay’ is just one more label that’s becoming accepted, rather than people themselves becoming more accepting.

The arguments I hear are the same that people use when comparing interracial marriage and gay marriage. “BUT IT’S DIFFERENT!!11”. Yeah… I guess it is a bit different, but it still doesn’t concern you. So um… kindly fuck off? Thanks.

-Emma

5 thoughts on “Polyphobia…?

  1. My only thing is, being gay and being poly are entirely two separate things. A person can be poly without being gay.

    Like

    • Of course, you’re absolutely right :) But they have some similarities; namely the fact that it doesn’t affect other people. This is why I can’t understand why someone could be pro-one thing and anti-another when neither of them affect them. Sure, it might not be their cup of tea. But that doesn’t mean they should deny others the right to be with whom they choose.

      Like

Leave a Reply

