Accidentally an advocate

I won’t lie, I did consider shutting down this blog after I’d announced that Aidan and I broke up. But within hours of posting that blog entry, I got an email from someone on ABC local radio who wanted me to do an interview on polyamory. This wouldn’t be the first time someone has contacted me and asked me to talk about polyamory on a semi-official platform. And that’s when I realised that my experiences and opinions are still relevant to the poly community. Through creating this blog and making my story public, I’ve accidentally become an advocate of polyamory, and now I feel somewhat obligated to continue. Not that I don’t want to of course- there are so few people who are out there educating people about polyamory, and it’s something I want to see more of. Why not me?

I still have dozens of blog entry ideas. Polyamory is such a broad topic, and there is always more to learn. Even though I’ve let myself get a little slack with the frequency of updates, I’ve decided that there’s too much still to be said to not continue blogging!

As for the radio interview? I ultimately had to decline as I had a cold, and would have sounded terrible on air. But if things continue the way they have been, it probably won’t be the last time I have another chance to talk about polyamory.

-Emma

3 thoughts on “Accidentally an advocate

  1. Thank you for the honesty and the education in your blog. All relationships are tough, they require courageous communication, even more so in Poly relating.
    Keep it up if you can, Emma. It’s important for people who know that they’re different, but that there’s nothing wrong :)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi, I just found your blog and have read a bit. I found you by googling polyamory in Tasmania. My partner and I are discussing opening our relationship up to others. I wasn’t sure if there were many Poly people in Tassie. We’very only been here two years so don’t know many people. Thanks for writing your blog :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

